“Who, if not us? When, if not now?”

„Warum wir hier sind: um vor der schrecklichen Schönheit der Sterne zu zittern, eine Träne über die Perfektion von Beethovens Sinfonien zu vergießen und ab und zu ein kaltes Bier zu trinken“ (“Why we are here: to tremble before the terrible beauty of the stars, to shed a tear over the perfection of Beethoven’s symphonies and to drink a cold beer now and then,”) David Lettermann is reported to have said (cf. Instagram SWR2 12.4.22).

I wonder if he ever drank a Mosel? Perhaps he would then be talking about a cool glass of Mosel wine. Because some wines are like a shock of happiness, are allowed to accompany people’s moments of glory; during the day, in the evening and at night. The Moselle and its tributaries connect France, Luxembourg and Germany, all the way to Belgium, weaving a web through culture, nature, language, connecting places and us people.

What a gift to be able to live and work here. Tour groups from the other side of the world push

their way through the alleys of medieval Bernkastel-Kues, along the buildings from Roman times in Trier, visit wine presses from antiquity. The cathedral in Metz is one of the most beautiful Gothic churches in France, the Place Stanislas in Nancy one of the most beautiful in the world. The Madon flows into the Moselle at Pont-Saint-Vincent. It rises in Vioménil, where the Saône also rises, which flows into the Rhone and with it into the Mediterranean. The Moselle flows into the Rhine in Koblenz, with it into the North Sea.

This year, Esch-sur-Alzette has the honour of being the European Capital of Culture. The eponymous river of Luxembourg’s second-largest city rises in the French département of Meurthe-et-Moselle and flows northwards through the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg.

There it passes the Capital of Culture, digs its way through the state capital and flows into the Sauer at Ettelbrück. The Sauer, which comes from southeast Belgium, flows into the Moselle at Wasserbillig.

After five small German-language books about the Moselle, I, as the wife of a winegrower, also want to celebrate the internationality of the Moselle with this website; weave a small international network of insider tips via social media: where can you find special vineyards, the most delicious breads, legendary wines, the special nature reserve, the most beautiful village churches, extraordinary exhibitions, who makes the finest tartlets …?

In anticipation of your insider tips
Leiwen/ Moselle in April 2022
Annette Köwerich

PS My French is not perfect; neither is my English. Nevertheless, I dare to try. If you find any mistakes, feel free to keep them or write to me. I look forward to it. “Who, if not us? When, if not now?”, Joan of Arc, * c. 1412 in Domrémy, Lorraine; † 1431 in Rouen). Domrémy is located on the Meuse, 50 kilometres west of the Moselle town of Charmes.

„Warum wir hier sind: um vor der schrecklichen Schönheit der Sterne zu zittern, eine Träne über die Perfektion von Beethovens Sinfonien zu vergießen und ab und zu ein kaltes Bier zu trinken“ (“Why we are here: to tremble before the terrible beauty of the stars, to shed a tear over the perfection of Beethoven’s symphonies and to drink a cold beer now and then,”) David Lettermann is reported to have said (cf. Instagram SWR2 12.4.22).

I wonder if he ever drank a Mosel? Perhaps he would then be talking about a cool glass of Mosel wine. Because some wines are like a shock of happiness, are allowed to accompany people’s moments of glory; during the day, in the evening and at night. The Moselle and its tributaries connect France, Luxembourg and Germany, all the way to Belgium, weaving a web through culture, nature, language, connecting places and us people.

What a gift to be able to live and work here. Tour groups from the other side of the world push their way through the alleys of medieval Bernkastel-Kues, along the buildings from Roman times in Trier, visit wine presses from antiquity. The cathedral in Metz is one of the most beautiful Gothic churches in France, the Place Stanislas in Nancy one of the most beautiful in the world. The Madon flows into the Moselle at Pont-Saint-Vincent. It rises in Vioménil, where the Saône also rises, which flows into the Rhone and with it into the Mediterranean. The Moselle flows into the Rhine in Koblenz, with it into the North Sea.

This year, Esch-sur-Alzette has the honour of being the European Capital of Culture. The eponymous river of Luxembourg’s second-largest city rises in the French département of Meurthe-et-Moselle and flows northwards through the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg. There it passes the Capital of Culture, digs its way through the state capital and flows into the Sauer at Ettelbrück. The Sauer, which comes from southeast Belgium, flows into the Moselle at Wasserbillig.

After five small German-language books about the Moselle, I, as the wife of a winegrower, also want to celebrate the internationality of the Moselle with this website; weave a small international network of insider tips via social media: where can you find special vineyards, the most delicious breads, legendary wines, the special nature reserve, the most beautiful village churches, extraordinary exhibitions, who makes the finest tartlets …?

In anticipation of your insider tips
Leiwen/ Moselle in April 2022
Annette Köwerich

PS My French is not perfect; neither is my English. Nevertheless, I dare to try. If you find any mistakes, feel free to keep them or write to me. I look forward to it. “Who, if not us? When, if not now?”, Joan of Arc, * c. 1412 in Domrémy, Lorraine; † 1431 in Rouen). Domrémy is located on the Meuse, 50 kilometres west of the Moselle town of Charmes.

Filter
Little Discoveries?
Rubriken
Keyword

Three countries, one river, endless possibilities.

About the author

I have been living on the Mosel for 25 years as the wife of a winegrower. As a young agricultural engineer, I worked as a press officer for a professional association in Koblenz. The very first official trip took me to Leiwen, where the rural youth wanted to dance a world record polka. A young viticultural engineer introduced

 

me to the mysterious world of winemaking.
In the meantime, our three daughters have left home to study. If a book I’m looking for doesn’t exist, I work to make sure it does. As a farmer’s daughter from Eifel, I am used to clearing difficulties like snowdrifts out of the way.

About the author

I have been living on the Mosel for 25 years as the wife of a winegrower. As a young agricultural engineer, I worked as a press officer for a professional association in Koblenz. The very first official trip took me to Leiwen, where the rural youth wanted to dance a world record polka. A young viticultural engineer introduced me to the mysterious world of winemaking.
In the meantime, our three daughters have left home to study. If a book I’m looking for doesn’t exist, I work to make sure it does. As a farmer’s daughter from Eifel, I am used to clearing difficulties like snowdrifts out of the way.

Warenkorb
Es befinden sich keine Produkte im Warenkorb
Weiter einkaufen
0

„Warum wir hier sind: um vor der schrecklichen Schönheit der Sterne zu zittern, eine Träne über die Perfektion von Beethovens Sinfonien zu vergießen und ab und zu ein kaltes Bier zu trinken“, soll David Lettermann gesagt haben (vgl. Instagram SWR2 12.4.22).

Ob er je einen Mosel getrunken hat? Vielleicht spräche er dann von einem kühlen Glas Moselwein. Denn manche Mosel sind wie ein Schock des Glücks, dürfen Sternstunden von Menschen begleiten; tagsüber, abends und nachts.

Die Mosel und ihre Zuflüsse verbinden Frankreich, Luxemburg und Deutschland, bis nach Belgien, weben ein Netz durch Kultur, Natur, Sprache, sie verbinden Orte und uns Menschen.

Was für ein Geschenk, hier leben und arbeiten zu dürfen. Reisegruppen vom anderen Ende der Welt schieben sich durch die Gassen im mittelalterlich anmutenden Bernkastel-Kues, entlang der Bauten aus Römertagen in Trier, besuchen Kelteranlagen aus der Antike.

Die Kathedrale in Metz zählt zu den schönsten gotischen Kirchen in Frankreich, der Place Stanislas in Nancy zu den schönsten der Welt.Der Madon fließt in Pont-Saint-Vincent in die Mosel. Er entspringt in Vioménil, wo auch die Saône entspringt, die in die Rhone mündet und mit ihr ins Mittelmeer fließt. Die Mosel mündet in Koblenz in den Rhein, mit ihm in die Nordsee.

In diesem Jahr darf Esch-sur-Alzette Kulturhauptstadt Europas sein. Der namensgebende Fluss von Luxemburgs zweitgrößter Stadt entspringt im französischen Département Meurthe-et-Moselle, durchzieht nordwärts das Großherzogtum Luxemburg. Dort passiert er die Kulturhauptstadt, gräbt sich durch die Landeshauptstadt und mündet bei Ettelbrück in die Sauer. Die aus dem Südosten Belgiens kommende Sauer fließt bei Wasserbillig in die Mosel.

Nach fünf kleinen deutschsprachigen Büchern über die Mosel will ich als Frau eines Winzers mit dieser Internetseite auch die

Internationalität der Mosel feiern; via Sozialer Medien ein kleines internationales Netz aus Geheimtipps weben: wo gibt es besondere Weinberge, die köstlichsten Brote, legendäre Weine, das besondere Naturschutzgebiet, die schönsten Dorfkirchen, außergewöhnliche Ausstellungen, wer fertigt die feinsten Törtchen …?

In Vorfreude auf Ihre Geheimtipps
Leiwen/ Mosel im April 2022
Annette Köwerich

PS Mein Französisch ist nicht perfekt; auch nicht mein Englisch. Ich wage es trotzdem. Wer Fehler findet, darf sie gerne behalten oder mir schreiben. Ich freue mich darauf. „Wer, wenn nicht wir? Wann, wenn nicht jetzt?“, Johanna von Orléans/ Jeanne d’Arc, * um 1412 in Domrémy, Lothringen; † 1431 in Rouen). Domrémy liegt an der Maas, 50 Kilometer westlich vom Moselstädtchen Charmes.

„Warum wir hier sind: um vor der schrecklichen Schönheit der Sterne zu zittern, eine Träne über die Perfektion von Beethovens Sinfonien zu vergießen und ab und zu ein kaltes Bier zu trinken“, soll David Lettermann gesagt haben (vgl. Instagram SWR2 12.4.22).

Ob er je einen Mosel getrunken hat? Vielleicht spräche er dann von einem kühlen Glas Moselwein. Denn manche Mosel sind wie ein Schock des Glücks, dürfen die Sternstunden von Menschen begleiten; tagsüber, abends und nachts.

Die Mosel und ihre Zuflüsse verbinden Frankreich, Luxemburg und Deutschland, bis nach Belgien, weben ein Netz durch Kultur, Natur, Sprache, sie verbinden Orte und uns Menschen.

Was für ein Geschenk, hier leben und arbeiten zu dürfen. Reisegruppen vom anderen Ende der Welt schieben sich durch die Gassen im mittelalterlich anmutenden Bernkastel-Kues, entlang der Bauten aus Römertagen in Trier, besuchen Kelteranlagen aus der Antike. Die Kathedrale in Metz zählt zu den schönsten gotischen Kirchen Frankreichs, der Place Stanislas in Nancy zu den schönsten der Welt. Der Madon fließt in Pont-Saint-Vincent in die Mosel. Er entspringt in Vioménil, wo auch die Saône entspringt, die in die Rhone mündet und mit ihr ins Mittelmeer fließt. Die Mosel mündet in Koblenz in den Rhein, mit ihm in die Nordsee.

In diesem Jahr darf Esch-sur-Alzette Kulturhauptstadt Europas sein. Der namensgebende Fluss von Luxemburgs zweitgrößter Stadt entspringt im französischen Département Meurthe-et-Moselle, durchzieht nordwärts das Großherzogtum Luxemburg. Dort passiert er die Kulturhauptstadt, gräbt sich durch die Landeshauptstadt und mündet bei Ettelbrück in die Sauer. Die aus dem Südosten Belgiens kommende Sauer fließt bei Wasserbillig in die Mosel.

Nach fünf kleinen deutschsprachigen Büchern über die Mosel will ich als Frau eines Winzers mit dieser Internetseite auch die Internationalität der Mosel feiern; via Sozialer Medien ein kleines internationales Netz aus Geheimtipps weben: wo gibt es besondere Weinberge, die köstlichsten Brote, legendäre Weine, das besondere Naturschutzgebiet, die schönsten Dorfkirchen, außergewöhnliche Ausstellungen, wer fertigt die feinsten Törtchen …?

In Vorfreude auf Ihre Geheimtipps
Leiwen/ Mosel im April 2022
Annette Köwerich

PS Mein Französisch ist nicht perfekt; auch nicht mein Englisch. Ich wage es trotzdem. Wer Fehler findet, darf sie gerne behalten oder mir schreiben. Ich freue mich darauf. „Wer, wenn nicht wir? Wann, wenn nicht jetzt?“, Johanna von Orléans/ Jeanne d’Arc, * um 1412 in Domrémy, Lothringen; † 1431 in Rouen). Domrémy liegt an der Maas, 50 Kilometer westlich vom Moselstädtchen Charmes.

Filter
Kleine Entdeckungen?
Rubriken
Keyword

Drei Länder, ein Fluss, unendliche Möglichkeiten.

Über die Autorin

Seit 25 Jahren lebe ich als Frau eines Winzers an der Mosel. Als junge Agrar-Ingenieurin arbeitete ich als Pressereferentin eines Berufsverbandes in Koblenz. Gleich die erste Dienstfahrt führte mich nach Leiwen, wo die Landjugend eine Weltrekord-Polka tanzen wollte. Ein junger Weinbau-Ingenieur führte mich in die geheimnis-

 

volle Welt der Weinbereitung ein. Inzwischen haben unsere drei Töchter zum Studieren das Haus verlassen. Wenn es ein Buch, das ich suche, nicht gibt, arbeite ich daran, dass es es gibt. Als Eifler Bauerntochter bin ich daran gewöhnt, Schwierigkeiten wie Schneeverwehungen aus dem Weg zu räumen.

Über die Autorin

Seit 25 Jahren lebe ich als Frau eines Winzers an der Mosel. Als junge Agrar-Ingenieurin arbeitete ich als Pressereferentin eines Berufsverbandes in Koblenz. Gleich die erste Dienstfahrt führte mich nach Leiwen, wo die Landjugend eine Weltrekord-Polka tanzen wollte. Ein junger Weinbau-Ingenieur führte mich in die geheimnisvolle Welt der Weinbereitung ein.
Inzwischen haben unsere drei Töchter zum Studieren das Haus verlassen. Wenn es ein Buch, das ich suche, nicht gibt, arbeite ich daran, dass es es gibt. Als Eifler Bauerntochter bin ich daran gewöhnt, Schwierigkeiten wie Schneeverwehungen aus dem Weg zu räumen.

Warenkorb
Es befinden sich keine Produkte im Warenkorb
Weiter einkaufen
0