Eltz Castle, Wierschem
Eltz, Moselle tributary at river kilometre 34

The elliptical rocky head rises up to 70 metres above the Eltz, which flows around it on three sides. A castle was built on it in the 12th century and has been in the possession of the noble family for eight centuries.

The Eltz, which is around 60 kilometres long, flows from the Eifel towards the Moselle, passing through picturesque villages such as Monreal and separating the Maifeld from the Eifel. In the past, people never married across the river, not even danced together, my grandmother told me: On this side of the river the proud Maifeld farmers with their fertile soils, climatically favoured between the Elz and the Moselle as part of the Middle Rhine Basin, on the other side of the Eltz the Eifelans with their barren soils in the higher mountains.

Trade routes often led along the streams, presumably also along the Elz. Fortunately, the castle was not often seriously warred against. In the years 1331-1336, the lords of Eltz, together with other free imperial knights, resisted the territorial policy of Archbishop and Elector Balduin of Trier. The Trier prince built the Trutzeltz on a rocky outcrop above the castle and declared the Eltz feud. The free imperial knights lost their imperial freedom. Balduin appointed Johann as Burggrave, as a subject, not as a free knight.

Today, the castle is besieged by guests: schoolchildren from the region and tour groups from the other side of the world make the castle one of the most popular destinations in Germany.

Warenkorb
Es befinden sich keine Produkte im Warenkorb
Weiter einkaufen
0

Burg Eltz, Wierschem
Eltz, Moselzufluss bei Flusskilometer 34

Bis zu 70 Meter hoch ragt der elliptische Felskopf über die Eltz, die ihn auf drei Seiten umfließt. Darauf wurde im 12. Jahrhundert eine Burg gebaut und ist seit 8 Jahrhunderten im Besitz der Adelsfamilie.

Die rund 60 Kilometer lange Eltz fließt von der Eifel Richtung Mosel, durchfließt pittoreske Dörfer wie Monreal und trennt das Maifeld von der Eifel. Früher habe man nie über den Fluss hinweg geheiratet, nicht einmal miteinander getanzt, hat mir meine Großmutter erzählt Diesseits des Flusses lebten die stolzen Maifeld-Bauern mit ihren fruchtbaren Böden, klimatisch begünstigt zwischen Elz und Mosel als Teil des Mittelrheinischen Beckens, jenseits der Eltz die Eifelaner mit ihren kargen Böden in den höheren Bergen.

Entlang der Bäche führten oft Handelswege, so vermutlich auch entlang der Elz. Zum Glück wurde die Burg nicht oft ernsthaft bekriegt. In den Jahren 1331–1336 widersetzten sich die Eltzer Herren zusammen mit anderen freien Reichsrittern der Territorialpolitik des Erzbischofs und Kurfürsten Balduin von Trier. Der Trierer baute die Trutzeltz auf einem Felsvorsprung oberhalb der Burg und erklärte die Eltzer Fehde. Die freien Reichsritter verloren ihre Reichsfreiheit. Balduin ernannte Johann zum Burggrafen, als Untertan, nicht als freier Ritter.

Heute wird die Burg von Gästen belagert: Schulkinder aus der Region und Reisegruppe vom anderen Ende der Welt machen die Burg zu einem der beliebtesten Reiseziele in Deutschland.

Warenkorb
Es befinden sich keine Produkte im Warenkorb
Weiter einkaufen
0