Basilique Saint-Nicolas du Port, Saint-Nicholas-de-Port

Portus (port) is what the Romans called the town on the Meurthe, the surrounding countryside Pagus portensis. The inhabitants are called Portois in French today.

At the beginning of the 11th century, the town was called Port. At that time, a first church was built, into which a relic was brought in 1090: a finger limb from the hand of blessing of Saint Nicholas. The crusader Aubert de Varangéville brought it from Bari, where the mortal remains of Saint Nicholas of Myra had been brought shortly before. From then on, the place was called Saint-Nicolas-de-Myre and became a place of pilgrimage.

More and more pilgrims came. That is why a larger church was built from 1193 onwards; in 1429, Joan of Arc is said to have prayed there before saving France. Today’s late Gothic basilica was built from 1481 onwards by order of the Duke of Lorraine, René II, and consecrated in 1560. The duke is said to have redeemed a vow with it: in 1477 he is said to have promised its construction if he could defeat the enemy Burgundians. He was victorious. 

The basilica in the late Gothic Flamboyant style has the highest columns in France with its 28-metre-high columns. The nave is 32 metres high, the towers 85 and 87 metres respectively.  During the Thirty Years’ War, on 5 November 1635, much of the village was destroyed. The village, now called Saint-Nicolas, has been called Saint-Nicholas-de-Port since 1961. 

Since 1246, Saint Nicholas has been celebrated as the patron saint of the town and the region with a procession of lights: On the evening of the Saturday closest to 6 December, people gather for the procession of lights in the basilica. In the darkness, they sing the traditional song “Saint Nicholas of Lorraine”, pointing their candles towards the relic of Saint Nicholas. The candles carry umbrellas with song lyrics. The refrain:

« St Nicolas, ton crédit d’âge en âge
A fait pleuvoir tes bienfaits souverains;
Viens couvre encore de ton doux patronage
Tes vieux amis, les enfants des Lorrains. »

Warenkorb
Es befinden sich keine Produkte im Warenkorb
Weiter einkaufen
0

Basilika St. Nicolas du Port, Saint-Nicolas-de-Port
Meurthe, Moselzufluss Flusskilometer 343

Portus (Hafen) nannten die Römer die Stadt an der Meurthe, das Umland Pagus portensis. Die Einwohner werden im Französischen heute Portois genannt.
Anfang des 11. Jahrhunderts nannte man die Stadt schlicht Port. Damals wurde eine erste Kirche errichtet, in die 1090 eine Reliquie gebracht wurde: ein Fingerglied von der der Segenshand des Heiligen Nikolaus. Der Kreuzfahrer Aubert de Varangéville brachte es aus Bari mit, wohin kurz zuvor die sterblichen Überreste des Heiligen Nikolaus von Myra gebracht worden waren. Fortan wurde der Ort Saint-Nicolas-de-Myre genannt und zum Pilgerort.
Immer mehr Pilger kamen. Darum wurde ab dem Jahr 1193 eine größere Kirche gebaut; in der 1429 Jeanne d`Arc gebetet haben soll, ehe sie Frankreich rettete. Die heutige spätgotische Basilika wurde ab 1481 im Auftrag des lothringischen Herzogs René II. erbaut und 1560 eingeweiht. Der Herzog habe damit ein Gelübde eingelöst: 1477 soll er ihren Bau versprochen haben, falls er die feindlichen Burgunder schlagen könne. Er siegte.  

Die Basilika im spätgotischen Flamboyant-Stil hat mit ihren 28 Meter hohen Säulen die höchsten in Frankreich. Das Kirchenschiff ist 32 Meter hoch, die Türme 85 bzw. 87 Meter Im Dreißigjährigen Krieg, am 5. November 1635, wurde viel im Ort zerstört. Der inzwischen Saint-Nicolas genannte Ort heißt seit 1961 Saint-Nicholas-de-Port.  

Seit dem Jahr 1246 wird der der Heilige Nikolaus als Schutzpatron der Stadt und der Region mit einer Lichterprozession gefeiert: Am Abend des Samstags, der dem 6. Dezember am nächsten liegt, versammeln sich Menschen zur Lichterprozession in der Basilika. In der Dunkelheit stimmen sie das traditionelle Lied „Heiliger Nikolaus von Lothringen“ an, richten ihre Kerzen in Richtung der Reliquie des Heiligen Nikolaus. Die Kerzen tragen Schirmchen mit Liedertexten. Der Refrain:

« St Nicolas, ton crédit d’âge en âge
A fait pleuvoir tes bienfaits souverains;
Viens couvre encore de ton doux patronage
Tes vieux amis, les enfants des Lorrains. »

Warenkorb
Es befinden sich keine Produkte im Warenkorb
Weiter einkaufen
0